(918) 221-3991
Phones Answered: 24/7

Punishment for a Tulsa DUI

Tulsa DUI Punishment

If you are convicted of a DUI offense, the punishment can be extreme. A first time DUI can carry up to 365 days in jail in addition to fines, fees, and other punishment. That is why you need a qualified Tulsa DUI lawyer like Robert Denton by your side defending your DUI Tulsa case.

If you have ever been convicted of a crime, especially a felony or a prior DUI, your punishment exposure could be far greater than someone who has never been in trouble before.

 

Sentencing laws are complicated and some prosecutors will take advantage of unrepresented defendants or defendants with unexperienced attorneys. That's why you need to call Tulsa DUI Defense and speak with Tulsa DUI lawyer, Robert Denton. He is a former prosecutor who has handled over 1000 DUI cases and knows how to protect you from the system.

 

Below is a brief example of the range of punishment for different DUI charges. In addition to the punishment below there are driver's license consequences as well in a DUI case. Because of the complexities in Oklahoma criminal sentencing laws and the treatment of DUI charges by the Court and prosecutors, you need an experienced Tulsa DUI lawyer like Robert Denton to guide you through this difficult process. Email us or call today for a free consultation: (918) 221-3991.

Municipal DUI (City Charges)

 

Municipal DUI charges occur when a person is arrested by the city police and the person has no prior DUI offenses or felony offenses. An experienced Tulsa DUI lawyer like Robert Denton can often keep these charges from ever becoming a conviction or being on your record.

 

Punishment

  • 0-180 days in jail.
  • $750 maximum fine.

First Time DUI (State or County Charges) - 47 O.S. § 11-902(c)(1)

 

First time misdemeanor DUI charges filed in State District Court (also known as county court) are for the same offense as a municipal DUI, but they are filed in state court instead. Even though a DUI filed in district court and a DUI file in municipal court are the same conduct, the punishment is very different. DUIs filed in Tulsa County court carry more punishment than DUIs filed in Tulsa city court. Often, the difference between a first time DUI being on your record or not is whether or not a person has an experienced Tulsa DUI lawyer like Robert Denton.

 

Punishment

  • 10-365 days in jail.
  • $1000 maximum fine.

First Time Aggravated DUI - 47 O.S. § 11-902(d)

 

If you are arrested for a DUI and your breath or blood test shows a value of 0.15% BAC or higher, you will most likely be charged with an "Aggravated DUI". The punishment for an aggravated DUI is similar to a first time misdemeanor DUI. However, an aggravated DUI conviction also includes a mandatory breath alcohol interlock device in your car for a minimum of 90 days after conviction.

 

Punishment

  • 10-365 days in jail.
  • $1000 maximum fine.
  • 90 day minimum of breath alcohol interlock device in car.

Felony Driving Under the Influence (Felony DUI) - 47 O.S. § 11-902(c)(2)

 

Felony DUI charges are filed when a person is arrested for a DUI and has had a prior DUI conviction or DUI deferred sentence in a court of record in the ten years before their most recent arrest. Court of record in Oklahoma include Tulsa and Oklahoma City municipal (city) courts. All state district courts are also courts of record. Deferred sentences that are completed and expunged can sometimes be used as a prior offense to make a new DUI arrest a felony. This is one of the many reasons why it is very important to hire an experienced Tulsa DUI lawyer like Robert Denton so that you are protected during this process.

 

Punishment - First Felony DUI

  • 1-5 years in State Prison
  • $2,500.00 maximum fine.

 

Punishment - Second Felony DUI

  • 1-10 years in State Prison.
  • $5,000.00 maximum fine.

 

Punishment - Third Felony DUI

  • 1-20 years in State Prison.
  • $5,000.00 maximum fine.

DUI Manslaughter

 

If a person is driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI) and they kill someone in a traffic accident, they can be charged and convicted of manslaughter. Additionally, if the person was previously convicted of a DUI within the last ten years, that person could be charged with felony murder. These are extremely serious charges that can carry as much as life in prison. It is critical that if you are charged with one of these crimes, you contact the experienced Tulsa DUI lawyer, Robert Denton, immediately so we can start defending you.

 

Punishment

  • 4 years - Life in Prison

DUI Expungement

 

Often considered the "light at the end of the tunnel" for many people charged with a DUI in Tulsa, expunging a Tulsa DUI case can often be achieved after the completion of a sentence. Not every case qualifies for an expungement, and that is why you need to speak with a qualified Tulsa DUI lawyer who can explain the details of an expungement.

Contact a Tulsa DUI Lawyer for Help

 

If you have been arrested for a Tulsa DUI, you are going to need experienced legal representation. Call or email us to set up a free consultation. Although the punishment seems extreme, we can typically help our clients avoid additional jail time. We work hard so you can get back to living your life. Call today: (918) 221-3991.

 

Email us.

Tulsa DUI Attorney Robert Denton

You probably have questions about your recent DUI arrest. We understand. Tulsa DUI Lawyer Robert Denton knows exactly what you should do and how you should do it to get your life back under control. As a former prosecutor, he knows the ins and outs of DUI cases. If you want to get your life back, give Robert Denton a call and hire the Tulsa DUI Attorney who can help you put your life back together. 

Contact Us